Focus on the titled clubs of the English championship

Obviously the English Premier League has always been designated the best league in Europe for several years. And for good reason, the matches are fiercely contested and the actors show a lot of commitment. But do you know the teams that were crowned winners in this championship? Here they are !

1.Manchester United

The Red Devils lead the dance at the top of the table of titled teams in the Premier League. Manchester United have won 20 league titles in their entire history. The first coronation was won in 1908. Three years later, the Mancunian club won its second title. After these victories, it was not until the 1950s that the Red Devils returned to the front of the English stage. Manchester United won the championship in 1952, 1956 and 1957. In the 1960s, the club won 2 titles (1965 and 1967). The 90s consecrate a beautiful epic of Mancunians. Manchester United won 5 titles in 10 years (93, 94, 96, 97 and 99). The 2000s are more prolific in titles for the Red Devils. They won 8 titles in 13 years (2000, 01, 03, 07, 08, 09, 11 and 13).


The Liverpool Reds are just one length behind Manchester United. Their first title was won in 1901. 5 years later, they won their second champion trophy. From 1922 to 1923, Liverpool won two consecutive league titles. The fifth trophy will be acquired in 1947. The Reds sign two victories in particular in 1964 and 1966. 4 titles are gleaned in the 70s (73, 76, 77 and 79). The 80s consecrated a good sporting health at the Liverpool Reds. They won six league titles (80, 82, 83, 84, 86, 88). The penultimate crown of the Reds dates back to 1990 and the ultimate crown is won in 2020. With all these titles, Liverpool boasts a rich trophy cabinet of 19 crowns.

3. Arsenal

Arsenal’s Gunners come third in the Premier League’s top title teams. The club’s love affair with the title of champion began in 1931. In 1933, 34, 35 and 38, the London club continued with 4 other titles. The sixth coronation was won by the Gunners in 1948, then followed that of 1953. Arsenal won only one title in the 1950s (53) as well as in the 1970s (71). Arsenal won its ninth league title in the late 1980s (1989). The 90s will see the Gunners win two titles (91 and 98). In 2002, Arsenal won their 11th title and the last one was won in 2004. This ultimate will be consecrated by the invincibility of the team which has not conceded any defeat throughout the season. In total, Arsenal have won 13 Premier League titles.

4. Everton

The Toffees have 9 Premier League titles. The very first were conquered in 1891, 1915 and 1928. They would add 2 titles to their purse in the 1930s (1932, 1939). The last four titles were won in 1963, 1970, 1985 and 1987.

5.Manchester City

The Citizens have one less title than Everton’s Toffees. After the titles of 1937 and 1968, it was not until 2012 that the SkyBlues returned to the top of the Premier League. We still remember the achievement of Sergio Aguero which gave the title to Manchester City in the final seconds of play. Two years later, the Citizens won a new coronation. In 2018 and 2019, the SkyBlues sign two successes in a row. From 2021 to 2022, Pep Guardiola’s band won the 7th and 8th title in club history. This season, the Mancunian club managed to win on the last day in a match that started off badly for Man City.

6.Aston Villa

The Aston Villa team are six-time English champions. She won her first four titles in 1894, 1896, 1897 and 1899. In 1900, the Villans won the 5th champion trophy. Then we have to wait a decade later to see them play the leading roles again and win a new title in 1910. Finally, Aston Villa will win its last title in 1981.

7. Chelsea and Sunderland

Chelsea Blues and Sunderland are the only two clubs to win 6 Premier League titles each. If the very first coronation was obtained in 1955 for Chelsea, it was necessary to wait 45 years to see the Blues win again in the league. The Special One (José Mourinho) will shape a competitive and solid team. The Portuguese coach will win the title again in 2006 and then leave. But Chelsea maintains a good dynamic which will allow it to win in 2010, 2015 and 2017 the last three titles of its current list. As for Sunderland, we have to go back to 1892 for the club’s first coronation. Then two other titles will follow in 1893 and 1895. The last three coronations will be won in 1902, 1913 and 1936.

8. Sheffield Wednesday and Newcastle

Sheffield Wednesday won its first two titles in the early 1900s (1903 and 1904). The last two titles will be won in 1929 and 1930. Like Sheffield Wednesday, Newcastle will succeed in winning 4 titles of champion of England (1905, 1907, 1909 and 1927).

9. Blackburn, Leeds, Wolverhampton and Huddersfield

Here are England’s three-time champion clubs. Blackburn Rovers won their titles in 1912, 1914 and 1995. Leeds United won their titles in 1969, 1974 and 1992. Wolves won their titles in 1954, 1958 and 1959. Finally Huddersfield won their titles in 1924, 1925 and 1926.

10. Double Premier League winning clubs

A total of five clubs have achieved the feat of winning the English championship twice. Derby Country achieved success in 1972 and 1975. Tottenham’s Spurs won their titles in 1951 and 1961. Burnley won its two titles in 1921 and 1960. Portsmouth won its two titles in a row in 1949 and 1950. Then Preston completes the list with coronations gleaned in 1889 and 1890.

11. Teams crowned champions of England only once

These are also 5 teams that will have been able to register their names on the Premier League list by winning each single title of champion. In 1898, Sheffield United set the tone and was followed by West Bromwich Albion in 1920. Ipswich won their title in 1962. In 1978 it was the turn of Nottingham Forest to follow suit by also winning their trophy . Finally in 2016, Leicester created a surprise by winning the Premier League against all odds.

Full English Premier League winners point

1.Manchester United (20)
2. Liverpool F.C. (19)
3.Arsenal (13)
4. Everton (9)
5. Manchester City (8)
6. Aston Villa (7)
7.Chelsea FC (6)
8. Sunderland (6)
9. Sheffield Wednesday (4)
10. Newcastle (4)
11. Blackburn Rovers (3)
12. Leeds United (3)
13. Wolverhampton (3)
14. Huddersfield (3)
15.Derby County (2)
16. Tottenham Hotspur (2)
17. Burnley (2)
18. Portsmouth (2)
19. Preston (2)
20. Leicester (1)
21. Nottingham Forest (1)
22. Ipswich (1)
23. West Bromwich Albion (1)
24. Sheffield United (1).

While waiting for the resumption of the Premier League, here is an overview of the teams that appear in the list of the best European championship.

Leave a Comment