How to Change Your Default Google Account


Google allows you to easily switch between multiple Google accounts. One of these accounts will be designated as your default Google account, which is usually the account you signed in to first (according to Google).

Google automatically uses your Google Account by default when you use Google services such as Google Search, Gmail, YouTube, Drive, Photos, etc. If your default Google account is not the one you want, you must switch to the correct account each time you access one of these services from a web browser.

OPEN MY GMAIL INBOX ON A COMPUTER OR MOBILE PHONE

You can change your default Google account in the following cases:

vous souhaitez vous connecter automatiquement à votre compte Google sur votre ordinateur ou vos périphériques personnels
Vous souhaitez vous connecter automatiquement à votre compte Google professionnel sur votre ordinateur ou vos périphériques professionnels.
Vous consacrez actuellement plus de temps et d'efforts que d'habitude à l'utilisation des services Google pour un autre compte Google.

Resetting your default Google account

The only way to change your default Google Account is to sign out of all of your Google Accounts, then sign back in to the primary Google Account that you want to set as your default account, before signing in to other Google Accounts. Follow the next steps to make sure your default Google Account has been changed to the correct account.

Accédez à myaccount.google.com dans un navigateur Web et sélectionnez votre photo ou icône de profil.
Compte Google avec l'icône de profil de compte en surbrillance

Sélectionnez Se déconnecter de tous les comptes.
Compte Google avec l'option Déconnexion de tous les comptes en surbrillance

Il est possible qu'un message vous indique que la synchronisation est interrompue. Si vous voyez ce message, sélectionnez Continuer.

L'écran Choisir un compte s'affiche avec la liste de tous vos comptes déconnectés.
Écran Choisir un compte Google

Sélectionnez le compte Google que vous souhaitez utiliser par défaut, saisissez votre mot de passe, puis sélectionnez Suivant. Comme vous vous êtes reconnecté à ce compte en premier, il devient automatiquement votre compte Google par défaut.
Connexion à un compte Google avec le champ du mot de passe et "Suivant" en surbrillance

Pour vous reconnecter à un autre compte Google, sélectionnez votre photo ou votre icône de profil, puis sélectionnez le compte et connectez-vous comme d'habitude. Répétez cette procédure pour tout autre compte Google.
Page de compte Google avec menu de profil répertoriant les autres comptes Google

Pour vérifier que le premier compte est votre compte par défaut, sélectionnez l'icône de profil d'un autre compte connecté. Vous verrez apparaître la mention "par défaut" en regard du premier compte auquel vous vous êtes reconnecté.
Liste des comptes Google avec la mention "par défaut" en regard du compte par défaut

Lorsque vous utilisez votre compte Google par défaut, le libellé "par défaut" ne s'affiche pas après avoir cliqué sur votre profil. Le libellé par défaut s'affiche dans la liste déroulante uniquement lorsque vous utilisez activement un autre compte Google.

Important note about your Google Account settings

According to Google, each Google Account has its own settings, but when you’re signed in to multiple Google Accounts, sometimes Google can’t know exactly which one you’re using. In this case, some settings may be applied from the wrong Google Account.

For example, when you open a new web browser window while signed in to two of your Google accounts, Google may not be able to tell which one you want to use in that new window. The settings in this new window will then generally be applied from your default Google account.

You can change your default Google Account whenever you want. Default Google accounts are specific to each device. If you use multiple computers or devices, you will need to reset the default Google Account for each device.

What about setting the default Google account in Google mobile apps?

If you use official Google apps, like Gmail or YouTube, you can sign in to and switch between multiple accounts just like you do with a web browser. Select your profile, then choose the Google account you want to use.

However, unlike using Google services on the web, there doesn’t seem to be a default label next to a particular Google account. The app simply remembers the last used Google account and keeps it until you manually switch to another account.

Leave a Comment