Liverpool – Real Madrid, their previous finals | UEFA Champions League

Liverpool have won the C1 six times while Real Madrid dominate the continental list with 13 titles. Each team was defeated in the final three times. goes back in time to review all the finals played by the two 2022 finalists, including the two in which they met.

It was 1977: Liverpool’s first European triumph

1977: Liverpool 3-1 Monchengladbach
(McDermott 28, Smith 65, Neal 83pen; Simonsen 51)

Kevin Keegan’s last game before leaving for Hamburg. Bob Paisley’s men return to Mönchengladbach for a remake of the 1973 UEFA Cup final. Terry McDermott opens the scoring in Rome, he is imitated by Tommy Smith and Phil Neal for the Reds, Allan Simonsen equalizes a time for the Germans .

1978 Liverpool 1-0 Club Brugge
(Dalglish 64)

After a first act which saw Birger Jensen and Club Brugge resist, Kenny Dalglish scored the only goal of the match for Liverpool shortly after the hour mark.

Final 1981, Liverpool beat Real Madrid in Paris

Final 1981, Liverpool beat Real Madrid in Paris

1981: Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid
(Kennedy 81)

Bob Paisley becomes the first coach to lift the European Cup three times in the first Liverpool – Real Madrid final in history, already played in Paris, at the Parc des Princes.

1984: Roma 1-1 Liverpool (on pens, 2-4)
(Pruzzo 43; Neal 14)

Back in Rome seven years after the first title, the Reds are crowned again in the Italian capital after a penalty shootout during which Bruce Grobbelaar goes down in history.

1985 Juventus 1–0 Liverpool
(Platini 58pen)

A goal from Michel Platini gives Juventus the title after a final marked by the drama of Heysel and the tragic death of 39 supporters before kick-off.

Milan-Liverpool, the highlights of 2005

Milan-Liverpool, the highlights of 2005

2005 Liverpool 3–3 AC Milan (tab 3-2)
(Maldini 1, Crespo 39 44; Gerrard 54, Smicer 56, Xabi Alonso 60)
Twenty years later, Liverpool returned to the top at the end of a legendary final: trailing 3-0 at the break, Rafael Benítez’s men equalized and finally won on penalties.

2007 AC Milan 2–1 Liverpool
(Inzaghi 45, 82; Kuyt 89)

The two teams met again two years later. This time, AC Milan’s two-goal lead will not be recovered, even if Dirk Kuyt maintains the hope of a new miracle for the Reds.

2018 Real Madrid 3–1 Liverpool
(Benzema 51, Basel 63 83; Mane 55)

The second final in history between Real Madrid and Liverpool rocked on an inspiration from Karim Benzema and two strokes of genius from Garth Bale.

2019 Liverpool 2–0 Tottenham
(Salah 2 sp, Origi 87)

In the lair of Atlético de Madrid, the 100% English final rocked at the start of the game on a penalty from Mohamed Salah before being sealed at the end of the match by Divock Origi. Jürgen Klopp then won his first European trophy.

Real Madrid winner in 1956

Real Madrid winner in 1956©AFP

1956 Real Madrid 4-3 Stade de Reims
(Di Stéfano 30, Rial 62 79, Marquitos 62; Leblond 6, Templin 10, Hidalgo 67)

The very first final in European Cup history saw Real Madrid quickly trailing Stade de Reims but reversing the situation to win late in the game.

1957 Real Madrid 2-0 Fiorentina
(Di Stefano 70pen, Gento 76)

Real Madrid host the second final and win in the second half at the Santiago Bernabéu on goals from Alfredo Di Stéfano and Paco Gento.

1958 Real Madrid 3-2 AC Milan (aet)
(Di Stefano 74, Rial 79, Gento 107; Schiaffino 59, Grillo 78)

For the third time, Real won while AC Milan led twice at the Stade du Heysel. This match is also the first final to be played after extra time, with Gento giving Los Blancos the title during it.

1959 Real Madrid 2-0 Stade de Reims
(Mateos 1, Di Stefano 47)

The remake of the very first edition is still won by Real Madrid who score on each half-time kickoff.

Hans Weilbächer and José María Zárraga before the 1960 final

Hans Weilbächer and José María Zárraga before the 1960 finalPopperphoto via Getty Images

1960 Real Madrid 7-3 Eintracht Frankfurt
(Di Stéfano 27 30 73, Puskás 45+1 56 60 71; Kress 18, Stein 72 75)

Real retain their crown after the most spectacular final: Ferenc Puskás becomes the first player to score a hat-trick in the final, even adding a fourth goal just before Alfredo Di Stéfano also scores a hat-trick in front of the 127,000 spectators present at Hampden Park.

1962 Benfica 5-3 Real Madrid
(Águas 25, Cavém 33, Coluna 50, Eusébio 64pen 69; Puskás 18 23 39)

After being eliminated in the first round the previous year, Real Madrid quickly found a final but lost for the first time, Eusebio’s Benfica, author of a double, proving too strong.

1964 Inter 3-1 Real Madrid
(Mazzola 43 76, Milani 61; Felo 70)

Two years later, Sandro Mazzola’s Inter triumphed over Real Madrid, whose ranks still included Di Stéfano and Puskás.

Real Madrid in 1966

Real Madrid in 1966Popperphoto via Getty Images

1966 Real Madrid 2-1 Partizan
(Amancio Amaro 70, Serena 76; Vasovic 55)

If Partizan become the first club from the East to reach the final, they cannot win after having led in Brussels, Velibor Vasović opening the scoring for the Yugoslavs. But Captain Gento’s Real, playing their sixth final, won in the last twenty minutes.

1981 Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid
(Kennedy 81)

15 years later, Real finds a final and Paris but can do nothing against the Reds winner on a goal signed Alan Kennedy.

1998 Real Madrid 1-0 Juventus
(Mijatovic 66)

It is then necessary to wait another 17 years for Real Madrid to find a final. This becomes La Séptimat on a goal signed Predrag Mijatović.

2000 Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
(Morientes 39, McManaman 67, Raul 75)

It took 32 years to see Real Madrid win their seventh title, it only takes two for the eighth crown to be won. At the Stade de France, Fernando Morientes, Steve McManaman and Raúl González allow the Merengues to win a 100% Spanish final.

Zidane's 2002 volley, from every angle

Zidane’s 2002 volley, from every angle

2002 Real Madrid 2-1 Leverkusen
(Lucio 13; Raul 8, Zidane 45)

Two years later again, Real won again. Raúl becomes the first player to score a goal in two UEFA Champions League finals before Zinedine Zidane scored the title that has since gone down in history.

2014 Real Madrid 4–1 Atlético (aet)
(Ramos 90+3, Bale 110, Marcelo 118, Ronaldo 120pen; Godin 36)

For the first final between two teams from the same city, Real Madrid clinched their tenth victory in the competition after a crazy match that saw Sergio Ramos equalize after added time before his team won in extra time .

2016 Real Madrid 1–1 Atlético (tab 5-3)
(Ramos 15; Carrasco 79)

The 2014 remake saw Atlético snatch extra time with a goal from Yannick Carrasco but the decision was made on penalties, Cristiano Ronaldo scoring the victory for Real Madrid.

2017 Real Madrid 4–1 Juventus
(Mandzukić 27; Ronaldo 20 64, Casemiro 61, Asensio 90)

With Mario Mandžukić scoring one of the finest goals in a UEFA Champions League final, Real Madrid waited until the second half to get the better of Juventus, Cristiano Ronaldo securing a brace.

Final 2018: Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool

Final 2018: Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool

2018 Real Madrid 3–1 Liverpool
(Benzema 51, Basel 63 83; Mane 55)

Karim Benzema gets the better of Loris Karius and launches Real Madrid towards a new title. If Sadio Mané maintains hope, the final switches to two magnificent goals signed Gareth Bale who came into play in place of Isco.

Leave a Comment